Playlist charades

If we were playing “dumb charades” you could guess from my poor acting skills that I’m an awful actor. If we were sitting across from each other playing dumb charades and the aim was to describe ourselves,I’d be acting and you’d be guessing words like ,”genius”,talented”…a little “deluded?”:P . Since we are neither in the same room,nor playing dumb charades why don’t I introduce myself to you by borrowing the words of some gifted lyricists.

Allow me to present to you a playlist of my favorite songs.

Make Me a Servant

 


Ere you formed me in my mothers womb,
You called me by my name.
And you touched my mouth and appointed me
A prophet to the world.

This is the song that spoke to my heart as I made my way to the altar for the first time with my little baby to receive Holy Communion (yes, I’m catholic! :)) . This communion song was no accident ,it was the voice of God singing through the choir to reassure me,a tiny part of His majestic creation, that I need not be afraid,He is with us very personally.This was the day before we were leaving to the hospital for our baby’s first surgery.So we thought it would be inappropriate to not take the baby to visit His God in church.

When He was just a few days old, I had asked God,”Why did the cleft defect happen to our baby? Is it because I don’t pray or come to church as often as I once used to?…” { you know those ingrained thoughts that stem from the false belief that everything has to be karmic somehow.. :/ }and the answer God gave me immediately from the ‘Word of God’ aka the holy Bible was a passage from Isaiah which made my eyes pop wide open in surprise!

It read:

Isaiah 49:1-6

1 Coasts and islands, listen to me, pay attention, distant peoples. Yahweh called me when I was in the womb, before my birth he had pronounced my name.

2 He made my mouth like a sharp sword, he hid me in the shadow of his hand. He made me into a sharpened arrow and concealed me in his quiver.

3 He said to me, ‘Israel, you are my servant, through whom I shall manifest my glory.’

4 But I said, ‘My toil has been futile, I have exhausted myself for nothing, to no purpose.’ Yet all the while my cause was with Yahweh and my reward with my God.

5 And now Yahweh has spoken, who formed me in the womb to be his servant, to bringJacob back to him and to re-unite Israel to him;-I shall be honoured in Yahweh’s eyes, and my God has been my strength.-

6 He said, ‘It is not enough for you to be my servant, to restore the tribes of Jacob and bring back the survivors of Israel; I shall make you a light to the nations so that mysalvation may reach the remotest parts of earth.’

So whats so amazing?… It astounded me that of all the words in the bible,here was a unique passage explaining how the Lord forms the baby’s mouth in the mother’s womb… on purpose…not a mistake…not an accident…definitely not a punishment. 🙂

An unimportant aside:

If you had seen the drawing of his cleft defect by the doctor you would be surprised to find,that it looks like a sword of sorts (or maybe it’s my overactive imagination just wanting everything to fit perfectly,you know…”made my mouth like a sharp sword”….hmm…)

Now back to that beautiful song that the choir was prayerfully singing as the Communion hymn that day…the first time,baby went to meet Jesus in Holy Communion,albeit asleep in his mommy’s arms…

“Ere you formed me in my mothers womb,
You called me by my name.
And you touched my mouth and appointed me
A prophet to the world. “

A-Maz-ing!

Sparrow

Audrey Assad is my current girl-singer crush 😛 and really the lyrics were just as amazing even when Lauryn Hill sang it in Step Up 🙂

If God Is For Us

Vineyard music- thankyou! Romans 8:31 sung so beautifully… If God is for us, who can be against us?

Daughter of God

by Sarah Hart, Nellie Cruz-Krawczynski, Jessica Alles-Smith

Wake up little Isaac 

by City on a Hill -The Gathering

So those were a few of my favorite songs… whats yours?

Leave a Reply

